Every state, including Connecticut, has its own rules, regulations and statutes when it comes to the consequences for driving under the influence. According to the State of Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles, the state has an implied consent law. This means that anyone who drives a vehicle on Connecticut roads has given consent to have their blood alcohol concentration tested if they are pulled over. A BAC of 0.02 or higher is over the legal limit for those under the age of 21, while anyone over 21 with a BAC of 0.08 or higher is legally intoxicated.
If the BAC is tested and is higher than 0.08, drunk driving is presumed and the driver is held by police. Anyone arrested for operating a vehicle under the influence can be kept in jail until they are bailed out, and will be transported via a police cruiser to the police station. The vehicle is often towed at the expense of the owner and law enforcement officials detain the driver and read them their rights.
FindLaw lists the different penalties for driving under the influence based on the number of violations the driver has had. The first violation can be punishable by up to $1,000 in fines, up to six months in prison, community service and probation. The second violation, if it occurs within 10 years of the first, may result in a court-ordered treatment program, fines up to $4,000 and two years in prison. Community service and probation may also be part of the sentencing. The third violation can lead to the same punishments but the fines can be up to $8,000 and prison time can be up to three years.
If the incident results in property damage, an accident or death, there may be more serious charges leveled against the driver. Ignition interlock devices, revocation or suspension of a license and limited driving privileges are also common consequences of driving under the influence.