Call For A Free Initial Consultation
Call For A Free Initial Consultation

Put Our Experience
To Work
For You

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Criminal Defense
  4.  » How does Connecticut penalize OUI?

How does Connecticut penalize OUI?

| Feb 8, 2021 | Criminal Defense |

Connecticut charges motorists with operating under the influence with blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher at the time of arrest. Drivers can receive license suspension, fines and other penalties for an OUI conviction.

Review the potential consequences for a Connecticut OUI before facing this type of court date.

First-time OUI

With no prior OUI convictions, a convicted person could receive $500 to $1,000 in fines, 45-day license suspension and 12-month ignition interlock device requirement upon license reinstatement. The court can also order 100 hours of community service in lieu of at least 48 hours and up to six months in jail.

Any OUI arrest also results in vehicle impoundment for 48 hours. The judge can require a convicted person to have a substance abuse assessment and attend treatment if indicated.

Second OUI offense

For a second conviction, a driver could receive $1,000 to $4,000 in fines. After the license suspension, the ignition interlock device requirement extends to three years. The person may also serve 120 days to two years in jail in addition to 100 hours of community service. The court can order attendance at a victim impact panel comprised of families affected by OUI.

Third OUI offense

A third OUI carries permanent license revocation in Connecticut. A conviction may also result in $2,000 to $8,000 in fines and between one and three years in jail.

In addition to these penalties, Connecticut imposes a minimum jail sentence of at least 30 days for OUI with a passenger younger than age 18.