Connecticut residents could face charges if they are impaired while driving. These are serious, life-changing charges. It’s important to understand the state’s drunk driving laws.
What is OUI?
Connecticut has what is called an OUI law instead of using the terms DUI or DWI like other states. OUI stands for operating under the influence. This means that if anyone is found to be operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, they could be arrested and charged with drunk driving.
The state has implied consent laws, which means that anyone who is behind the wheel must give consent to a breath or blood test to determine whether they are under the influence. If a person is tested and it’s determined that their blood alcohol concentration or BAC is .08 or greater, they can be charged with OUI.
What are the penalties for OUI in Connecticut?
Per Connecticut’s impaired driving law, if a person is found to be under the influence while operating a vehicle, they can face a variety of penalties if convicted. The individual’s driver’s license will be revoked or suspended. For a first conviction, the person can face up to six months in jail and a maximum fine of $1,000. An alternative to jail is probation with 100 hours of community service.
For a second OUI conviction within 10 years of the first, the individual could face up to two years in prison and a maximum fine of $4,000. They may also be ordered to serve probation, 100 hours of community service and to enter a treatment program.
For a third conviction within 10 years of the second, a person might face up to three years in prison, a maximum fine of $8,000, probation and 100 hours of community service. The court might also order the individual to enter a treatment program. The person’s license could be permanently revoked as well.
If a person kills someone during the offense, the charges can be elevated to manslaughter in the second degree.